Upcoming Webinars 

Disclaimer

The analysis of any legal or medical billing is dependent on numerous specific facts — including the factual situations present related to the patients, the practice, the professionals and the medical services and advice. Additionally, laws and regulations and insurance and payer policies are subject to change. The information that has been accurate previously can be particularly dependent on changes in time or circumstances. The information contained in this web site is intended as general information only. It is not intended to serve as medical, health, legal or financial advice or as a substitute for professional advice of a medical coding professional, healthcare consultant, physician or medical professional, legal counsel, accountant or financial advisor. If you have a question about a specific matter, you should contact a professional advisor directly. CPT copyright American Medical Association. All rights reserved. CPT is a registered trademark of the American Medical Association.

Menu
Log in


Log in

Michigan Physical Therapy License Reinstatement

Application

Physical Therapist

An applicant whose license has lapsed for less than three (3) years preceding the date of application for relicensure may be relicensed if the applicant meets all of the following requirements:

  • Submits the required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the department.
  • Passes the examination on Michigan laws and rules related to the practice of physical therapy.
  • Submits proof to the department of accumulating not less than twenty-four (24) professional development requirement credits during the two (2) years immediately preceding the application for relicensure.

An applicant whose license has lapsed for three (3) years or more preceding the date of application for relicensure may be relicensed if the applicant meets all of the following requirements:

  • Submits the required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the department.
  • Passes the examination on Michigan laws and rules related to the practice of physical therapy.
  • Complies with either of the following:
    • Establishes that he or she has been employed as a physical therapist in another jurisdiction recognized by the FSBPT for a minimum of 500 hours during the 2-year period immediately preceding the date of application for relicensure.
    • Passes the national physical therapy examination.

An applicant’s license or registration shall be verified by the licensing agency of any jurisdiction recognized by the FSBPT in which the applicant holds a current license or registration or ever held a license or registration as a physical therapist. If applicable, verification shall include the record of any disciplinary action taken or pending against the applicant.

Physical Therapy Assistants

An applicant whose license has lapsed for less than three (3) years preceding the date of application for relicensure may be relicensed under section 16201(3) of the code if the applicant meets all of the following requirements:

  • Submits the required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the department.
  • Passes the examination on Michigan laws and rules related to the practice of physical therapy.
  • Submits proof to the department of accumulating not less than twenty-four (24) professional development requirement credits consistent during the two (2) years immediately preceding the application for relicensure.

An applicant whose license has lapsed for three (3) years or more preceding the date of application for relicensure may be relicensed under section 16201(4) of the code if the applicant meets all of the following requirements:

  • Submits the required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the department.
  • Passes the examination on Michigan laws and rules related to the practice of physical therapy.
  • Complies with either of the following:
    • Establishes that he or she has been employed as a physical therapist assistant in another jurisdiction recognized by the FSBPT for a minimum of 500 hours during the two (2) year period immediately preceding the date of application for relicensure.
    • Passes the national physical therapist assistant examination.

An applicant’s license or registration shall be verified by the licensing agency of any jurisdiction recognized by the FSBPT in which the applicant holds a current license or registration or ever held a license or registration as a physical therapist assistant. If applicable, verification shall include the record of any disciplinary action taken or pending against the applicant.

Citations

Mich. Admin. Code R. 338.7137

Mich. Admin. Code R. 338.7149


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software