Upcoming Webinars 

Disclaimer

The analysis of any legal or medical billing is dependent on numerous specific facts — including the factual situations present related to the patients, the practice, the professionals and the medical services and advice. Additionally, laws and regulations and insurance and payer policies are subject to change. The information that has been accurate previously can be particularly dependent on changes in time or circumstances. The information contained in this web site is intended as general information only. It is not intended to serve as medical, health, legal or financial advice or as a substitute for professional advice of a medical coding professional, healthcare consultant, physician or medical professional, legal counsel, accountant or financial advisor. If you have a question about a specific matter, you should contact a professional advisor directly. CPT copyright American Medical Association. All rights reserved. CPT is a registered trademark of the American Medical Association.

Menu
Log in


Log in

Oregon Physical Therapy Continuing Education

How many continuing education hours are required during a reporting period?

Physical Therapists: Twenty-four (24) hours

New Licensees: Any person who is first issued an Oregon physical therapist or physical therapist assistant license through examination or through endorsement anytime during the first year of a certification period (April 1st of an even numbered year through March 31st of an odd numbered year), must complete the full 24 hours of continuing competence required for that certification period.

A person who is first issued an Oregon physical therapist or physical therapist assistant license anytime during the second year of a certification period (April 1st of an odd numbered year through March 31st of an even numbered year), must complete one-half (12 hours) of the continuing competence required for that certification period. Thereafter, such licensees must complete the same continuing competence requirements as other licensees.

Physical Therapy Assistants: Twenty-four (24) hours

How long is the reporting period?

"Certification period" means a twenty-four (24) month continuing competence certification period which runs from April 1st of each even numbered year, through March 31st of the next even numbered year, i.e. April 1, 2012 through March 31, 2014.

Due Date

March 31

Are there any specific courses that must be taken?

Pain Management Course

Effective January 2, 2008, all Oregon licensed physical therapists must fulfill a one-time only pain management education requirement.

Physical Therapists must complete the coursework requirement within a period of 24 months either before or after the first renewal of their physical therapist license.

The requirement is seven (7) hours of pain management education, which includes the completion of a one (1) hour on-line pain management course sponsored and provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission, plus an additional six (6) hours of continuing education relative to the evaluation, diagnosis or treatment of pain.

Physical Therapist Assistants are exempt from the statutory requirement to complete the pain management education requirement but may elect to complete the Oregon Pain Management Commission’s one (1) hour on-line course for credit or complete other hours of education or competency related to the treatment or management of pain.

What types of activities can be used for the continuing education requirements?

Activity

Hours Earned

Maximum

Courses, seminars, activities, and workshops sponsored, certified, or approved by an established and recognized medical or dental health-related organization or professional association recognized by the Board.

N/A

N/A

Courses or activities, directly related to the delivery or provision of physical therapy services and approved for continuing education or competency by other states which require continuing education or competency for physical therapists or physical therapist assistants.

N/A

N/A

Courses or activities related to professional conduct, ethics and cultural competency.

N/A

Courses provided by an accredited institution of higher education, which may include but are not limited to, courses leading to an advanced degree in physical therapy or other courses that advance the licensee’s physical therapy competence.

One college credit is equal to 10 (ten) contact hours.

N/A

 Individual study courses, online courses and webinars, requiring an examination and recognized by an accredited institution or recognized health-related organization or professional association recognized by the Board.

N/A

N/A

Courses in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).

Limited to one hour of continuing competence credit, regardless of the length of the course.

N/A

Courses or lectures which a licensee presents if the course or lecture awards continuing education or competence units or hours to participants and the licensee requests continuing education or competence credit from the Board.

A licensee may receive credit for presenting a particular course or lecture only one time during any certification period, regardless of how many times the licensee presents that course or lecture.

Twelve (12) hours.

Publishing an article in a peer review journal.

A licensee may receive credit for publishing an article only one time during any certification period.

Twelve (12) hours. 

 Serving as a certified clinical instructor.

The licensee must obtain a letter or certificate from the student’s academic institution verifying that the student has completed the course of clinical instruction.

A licensee who has completed a Board-approved clinical instructor certification program may receive continuing competence credit equivalent to one (1) credit hour for each forty (40) hours of direct clinical instruction to a physical therapist student or physical therapist assistant student enrolled in a physical therapy or physical therapy assistant program.

Eight (8) hours.

What are the reporting requirements?

The licensee is responsible for obtaining a completion certificate from the sponsor or speaker. The licensee is further responsible for retaining the certificate in the event the Board requires the licensee to produce documentation of completion of the continuing competence requirement.

How long must continuing education records be retained?

All completion certificates shall be retained for a minimum of four (4) years from the certificate date.

Waiver

The Board may, in individual cases involving physical disability or illness, undue hardship, or active military duty, grant waivers of the continuing competency requirements or extensions of time to fulfill the requirement. Applications for waiver shall be made to the Board in writing at least two months prior to license expiration.

Citations

OAR 848-035-0015

OAR 848-035-0040

OAR 848-035-0035


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software